## HARPER ADAMS UNIVERSITY

### Health & Safety Committee

### Terms of Reference

## Constitution

1. The Board of Governors has established a committee of the Board of Governors known as the Health & Safety Committee.

### Membership

- 2. The Committee shall be appointed by the Board of Governors. The Committee will consist up to 20 members. The University Secretary will chair the committee.
- 3. Members will normally represent a range of activities necessary for the Committee to obtain information and provide policy guidance on health and safety matters across the University.

## Authority

- 4. The Committee is authorised by the Board of Governors to determine, on behalf of the Board or, where necessary advise the Board on matters relating to health and safety
- 5. The Committee may seek from other University committees, information necessary for the proper performance of its duties.

### Duties

- 6. The duties of the Health & Safety Committee shall be:
  - a) to formulate health & safety policies and planning for the University
  - b) to review health & safety processes and procedures, including appropriate risk management measures, to ensure that they comply with relevant legislation and meet current University requirements
  - c) to oversee the collection of relevant health & safety information in support of policy formulation and the review of processes and procedures
  - d) to request, receive and consider reports from the Health & Safety Operational Group or other health and safety sub-groups
  - e) to undertake any other health & safety related review or activity sT/F.62 e7o&4(olTQD.00000912 0 612

Attendance at meetings

# Health & Safety Committee

# Membership 2020/2021

## Members

Clerk to the Board of Governors Up to 20 other members representing a range of University activities:	-	Dr C E Baxter (Chairman)
Laboratories	-	Dr V Talbot
University Farm	-	Mr S Kirby
Board of Governors	-	Mrs Rebecca Payne
Estates and Facilities	-	Mrs L Moroz-Hale
Deputy Vice-Chancellor	-	Professor M Lee
Drone Safety Officer	-	Mr Jonathan Gill
HSE Laser Safety Officer	-	Mr S Wane
Insurance/Procurement Officer	-	Mrs Helen Armishaw
University Biological Safety Officer	-	Mr Tom Leigh
Other office based activities	-	Mr C Wells
Catering	-	Mr D Nuttall
Conferences/Short Courses	-	Mrs L Plant
Farm Business Management	-	Ms C de Silva
SU President	-	Mr T Oatey
Student Services Manager	-	Mrs R Hayhurst
H&S Representative of the UCU	-	Dr V Talbot
Health & Safety Officer	-	Mrs E Osborne
Rep of HR Department	-	Mrs E Kelsall
Domestic Services Manager	-	Mrs M Pryce
CERC	-	Dr G Millburn
Engineering	-	Mr Mark Vickers

October 2020